click here to jump to start of article
  • Torah Reading: Naso
Join Our Newsletter

Get latest articles and videos with Jewish inspiration and insights​

Five Levels of Pleasure - Source

I really enjoyed reading Rabbi Weinberg's “Five Levels of Pleasure.” I studied in yeshiva but I never encountered this anywhere before. What is the source of these famous “Five Levels”?

The Aish Rabbi Replies:

The Sefer HaChinuch (mitzvah 418 - Ahavas Hashem) writes that there nothing in the world - neither wealth (materialism), family (love), honor (right thing), nor dominion (power) - which compares to love of God. Rabbi Weinberg learned from here that these five aspects are pointing to five distinct levels of pleasure - and from this kernel developed his famous class.

More Questions

Give Tzedakah! Help create inspiring
articles, videos and blogs featuring timeless Jewish wisdom.