World Opinion & Israel

How much does it really matter?

Click here if you are unable to view this video.
See More

Comments (34)

(29) David, December 24, 2012 3:29 PM

But what if perhaps we're doing 'wrong'?

If we're really doing what is Jewishly 'right', then I agree - we need not fear what the world says, as Hashem will 'be behind us'. But if we are doing something that, according to Jewish ethics, is sadly and tragically 'wrong'? I'm thinking about the death - however unintended - of many innocent child civilians in Gaza, and the consequencial suffering to those who are not themselves our enemies. What do those ghastly pictures all over the world's media [even after discounting the many fraudulent photos potently highlighted by Aish] say about the integrity of Yiddishkeit and its moral basis?

(28) Howard Newman, December 13, 2012 10:55 PM

I agree

As my mother used to say chub 'em befukit (Ior somethng like that)

(27) David, December 1, 2012 2:55 PM

True - up to a point

So long as world opinion is just that - opinion - it should not dictate a country's actions. Nations have interests, not friends. Protecting the lives of citizens is a country's ultimate interest. Afterward, there are also commercial, cultural, and diplomatic interests that may be impacted by world opinion. World opinion should be considered at its apropriate weight in any cost/benefit analysis in which it is relevant.

(26) sonya, November 30, 2012 6:44 PM

Re: world opinion

We are the world's default scapegoats. I don't see that changing. If we could find a larger fertile country with a sparse population in need of our skills and willing to allow it to become our country in return for our assistance, with no crying after we make it into something, I don't know, can that be done? Then bomb what Israel built back into the stone age it was before the Jews arrived, and give it to the terrorist rabble calling themselves true Palestinians. Otherwise, make the separation wall as strong as possible, quietly close all borders, discontinue allowing arabs into Israel for any reason, including work. [ Why on earth does Israel help Arabs by hiring them, never understood that. Let them in and you let in bombers.] After doing all the above, keep yourself to yourself, and tell the press to go to hell, a complete press blackout. The world will rage, but what's new about that. After a while of trying to bait us, they'll look for other news. Anyone tries to get over the wall, shoot them. As I see it, either find a new country or hunker down and make this one as strong and impenetrable as possible.

(25) Independent, November 30, 2012 9:25 AM

Dictatorships

Does it matter what a lot of dictatorships think?

(24) Sanford J "Sandy) & Chana Goodman, Dallas Texas, November 29, 2012 8:41 PM

God runs the world not human beings

Although human beings have free will what happens to us is ultimately up to God. World opinion is very consistent in condemning Israel and the Jewish people, yet as long as Israel and the Jewish do what is right, Hashem will protect us. It makes no sense for Israel to endanger itself for the sake of world opinion. If Israel, chas v, shalom, were to be attacked no one would come to our aid, except Hashem. It’s far better to be alive and condemned by the world than to be dead and get its verbal sympathy. If Avraham Avinu had listened to world opinion he would not have started Monotheism, let alone the Jewish people. Sanford J. ("Sandy") & Chana Goodman, Dalllas Texas

(23) anon, November 28, 2012 5:25 PM

world opinion is

not worthy of concern when talking about Israel. The world hates Jews, hates Israel. NO matter what Israel does the world will complain. Israel needs to do what is most important for herself and forget what the world says.

sonya, November 30, 2012 6:27 PM

Agree with Anon

You took the words right out of my mouth, anon. Israel has tried so hard in all this and no matter what it does, can't win in the eyes of the world. Doing the right thing has reduced her already tiny size and left her vulnerable.

(22) Sabus, November 28, 2012 1:03 PM

ISRAEL is forever & ever>>>

Israel is from the begining to no end so the world and their opinion will not deter Israel's. The much they've said & done all these centuries makes no difference & will not 'cos ISRAEL is Immortal & will ever grow stronger before the world & their evil perpetrators. It is all for them to live in peace & cool with ISRAEL whenever they realise that strenght will always conquer violence to gain peace and progress. Infact it is not in the hands of the world to decide what ISRAEL is.

(21) Anonymous, November 28, 2012 12:27 PM

To anonymous poster #2--I love what you wrote. It is extremely articulate and I could not have expressed it better myself!!

(20) Jean Terry, November 27, 2012 11:47 PM

World Opinion of Israel

Incomprehensibly, no matter what Israel does, they are always told they are wrong. It makes me angry. I do think they should do what they need to do regardless of world opinion.

(19) victor, November 27, 2012 11:08 PM

No matter what happens ... no matter what events transpire ... no matter how moral and ethical and just Israel proves itself to be ... 40 nations will seek to condemn and stigmatize Israel whenever and however possible. So why care what they and their fellow supplicant nations opine?

(18) Renee Stevens, November 27, 2012 10:28 PM

Shalom I am American , What you said is right,,,,I be leave Israel has to do what they have to do,after all God gave the of Israel to Abraham,Jacob and Isaac

winnie wright, November 28, 2012 3:34 PM

No matter what Isael will prevail.Yesthere will be deaths and many of them but you are G d's people NEVER NEVER AGAIN must we allow your people and land to be subjected to what has happened in the past.CHRISTIANS let the world know where we stand WHERE EVER WE STAND WE STAND WITH ISRAEL. SHALOM

(17) Aharon Tuvia, November 27, 2012 7:44 PM

Exactly right!

Rabbi Solomon is completely correct! I'd just like to add that if we judged everything according to world opinion, we'd stop being Jewish altogether. About a year ago a coworker asked me what was the origin of the Hebrew language. I replied with the classic Torah view which is that Hashem utilized Hebrew to create the world. My coworker replied, "There are a lot of people who would disagree with you." You know what? Who cares? Most of the world believes in lots of things, including accepting one form or another of idolatry, that is absolutely forbidden to Jews. So, world opinion? As a Rov of mine once told me in this regard, "Your responsibility to the world is to be a mentche. You are not required to taylor everything you do to what the world likes or doesn't like."

(16) Cal S, November 27, 2012 6:23 PM

World opinion sometimes brings Pogroms!

Too many people belong to the "Blame the Jews for everything" club! But I agree, Israel must do what it has too to prevent the "Holocaust" mammzers out there! Too Hell with world opinion!

(15) Dvirah, November 27, 2012 5:39 PM

Higher Authority

I agree 100%! The only one whose opinion we should worry about is Hashem's.

(14) Anonymous, November 27, 2012 5:35 PM

Where is Hashem in this picture

There is controversy over what was done now in Gaza and there is unhappiness with the results. When Netanyahu, Barak and Avigdor Leiberman expressed their thanks for the help and backing, not one of them mentioned G-d. I believe that until we put Hashem in the forefront of the picture, it doesn't matter whether we tiptoe around world opinion or not, things cannot be successful without Hashem's will and help. Rav Sternbuch wrote a letter entitled Red Alert warning that we must wake up to see all the miracles that Hashem performe for us and realize that it is not natural. If we do realize that all is from Hashem we could soon witness Moshiach. But, Rav Shterbuch warns, if we don't heed Hashem's call to come closer to Him, than, chas v'shalom, we could witness times the likes of which were never seen. Wake up Jews, it's not any body or person who determines our future- it is all in the hands of Hashem.

david, November 27, 2012 9:13 PM

Right On!

Right On!

(13) Carol, November 27, 2012 5:20 PM

The world is a place of darkness, seek the light

I agree Rabbi, the opinions of this world don't matter. There really is only one thing that matters and that is what does El think...what does our Heavenly Father think..What we need to do is His will and not ours....seek first the Kingdom of God and all the things that He knows we really need will come. God bless Israel!

(12) Anonymous, November 27, 2012 5:16 PM

"You are so right"

You are so right, and you are so right because world opinion has never helped, and in the long run has never hurt. When Jews were going to the gas chambers almost like sheep, where was world opinion? The world, whether they knew the extent of the atrocity, or not, could care less, especially the good old USA. Others asked, "why didn't they fight back"? Now, when we defend ourselves, that's not good either. We are the evil ones killing "innocent Palestinians". I say that if Israel had cared less about what the world said and says, and care more about doing what is right, it would be way ahead of the game. Israel probably would have taken Iran out years ago, when their nuclear bomb project was small. They probably would not have given up Gush Katif, and so many other areas that were important to Israel. They certainly would not have stood still when 100 scud missiles were being fired from Iraq. Of course, like any other country, Israel wants to be accepted into the community of nations as a democratic society. However, what other nation would put up with what Israel puts up with? Who are they to judge? How many other countries send down leaflets to the enemy to warn the civilian population? Only Israel does. The fact that the enemy puts their own people in harms way is given nary a thought. Did the U.S. do that in any of its wars? Who are they to think of Israel as a thorn in the side of the US? I say, Israel as a sovereign state should do what is in its best interests only, and absolutely should not worry what others say, especially the useless U.N.

(11) Natalie, November 27, 2012 4:29 PM

Wake up Israel!

As a South African Gentile, I SO agree with Rabbi Salomon. There are a multitude of Gentiles out there who are praying for Israel and wondering why world opinion is so important to the Israeli government. Do what is right! Whatever happens, Israel will be condemned by the so called "world" but their opinion makes no difference - only HaShem's. We support you and just wish that Israel will stop being led by the nose by the world and the Israeli government and media. What happened to the people of the wars in '48, 56. the 6 day war? Did world opinion give you those victories! Am Yisrael chai!

(10) Jonathan, November 27, 2012 4:25 PM

GREAT COMMON SENSE!!

Rabbi Salomon talks such undeniable sense!! Whatever he says has no bias or ulterior motive - he is giving an informed point of view and asking us what we think of it. A great man who I personally want to hear a lot more of.

(9) carla, November 27, 2012 4:24 PM

The right thing to do

Israel needs to care about only one opinion and that is the God of Israel's opinion. As long as the state of Israel caters to the world, Hashem will not step in. You are correct in that they must do the right thing and trust God to to His part.

(8) Catherine, November 27, 2012 4:15 PM

Only God Matters

The Rabbi is right on. The UN is worthless when it comes to peace or human rights or anything of any importance. If and when Israel bombs Iran off the face of the earth, I will be the first to applaud. I pray every day that the LORD would give us in America the kind of leadership that Israel enjoys!

(7) Elana, November 27, 2012 3:45 PM

Opinion does matter

Here I sit and watch the news and am thinking...what are rational, democratic upstanding people doing when it comes to Israel? Is it rational to compare a democratic country with one that is a totalitarian government (like Hamas, who, without any trial, killed 6 people outright on suspicion of collaboration to Israel? I used to sit back and keep quiet when people would put down israel, but not anymore. There is no change without hard work and effort. But ultimately, I also need to remind myself that G-d is behind the scenes, controlling things as He wills. So, even when I get upset, I now don't get so worked up about it; I just point one or two things out when I feel l need to.

(6) Anonymous, November 27, 2012 3:27 PM

Real peace in mideast can only result when the lPalestenians accept Israel and Israel accepts the Palistenians and all hatred is gone. Some say this can never be. Then one day a big weapon war (like nuclear) will destsroy the earth and all mankind. Is that what we are gearing to?

Yossie, November 29, 2012 1:44 AM

Anonymous

So what would you suggest that Israel does?

(5) Sol, November 27, 2012 4:21 AM

World Opinion

unfortunately world opinion causes fire-bombings of synagogues around the world...just to name one the side effects.

(4) Tomas, November 26, 2012 4:05 PM

My perspective

In confronting raw evil like Hamas is, I personally have a real penchant for John Wayne-style solutions and hate things like appeasement. In this sense I wholeheartedly sympathize with the perspective of Rabbi Salomon. When the Pillar of Defense operation was in progress, I also donated a couple of food packages and one clothing package for Israeli soldiers on the line. I am afraid at the same time that making a concession on the grounds of "public relations" may occasionally become the lesser evil of two alternatives. According to one Yom Kippur War documentary, the IDF intelligence possessed information about the oncoming Egyptian and Syrian assaults at least several hours before the assaults actually started. Some Israeli generals suggested that the IDF air force carry out a series of pre-emptive strikes. Prime Minister Meier said no, on the grounds that support by the US government would be crucial for Israel's success in the war, and, therefore, it was crucial for America to perceive Israel as the victim and not as the party that had started all the combat. I share the worries that the IDF has left an unfinished business in Gaza, but then, I am reluctant to criticise Prime Minister Netanyahu for his decision. It seems possible to me that this was the price for ensuring the US government's co-operation in the Iranian nuclear programme issue, which constitutes a far bigger threat.

(3) carolyn, November 26, 2012 12:21 AM

Do what is right

I couldn't agree more completely, I just made a very difficult complex decision before I watched this video. I have been struggling, holding out, and debating on what to do for two years. None of my options were good, but I broke it down into pieces and parts until I could really get to the heart of the matter in order to be able to understand the most basic fundamental part that I needed to see. Once I could see it, the rest was easy because it was without question the right thing to do. The rest will fall into place and the consequences will be what they are, but I will always know that I did the right thing.

(2) Anonymous, November 25, 2012 1:49 PM

World opinion does not matter most of the time

A few points to make here: 1) you have to look at who is giving the opinion: are they gross human rights violators like Libya who sit on UN "human rights" committees? If so, that's not exactly the type of endorsement I would ever seek. 2) Is the country condemning from the good of her heart to help, or us it thinly veiled criticism ( as it usually is with Israel), disguised as an 'opinion'? 3) Does the opinion provide a constructive solution to the problem ? Or is it merely rhetoric? There are lots of armchair critics, but few 'solurionairies' out there these days.

(1) Alan S., November 25, 2012 11:19 AM

As always, Rabbi Salomon speaks the truth. Yasher Koach!

Anonymous, November 26, 2012 10:45 PM

I agree...

I agree. Rabbi Salomon speaks the truth. Yasher Koach from Beachwood, Ohio...

 

Submit Your Comment:

  • Display my name?

  • Your email address is kept private. Our editor needs it in case we have a question about your comment.


  • * required field 2000
Submit Comment
stub

Receive the Aish.com Weekly Email

Sign up to our Aish Weekly Update Jewsletter.

Our privacy policy