Five Levels of Pleasure - Source

I really enjoyed reading Rabbi Weinberg's “Five Levels of Pleasure.” I studied in yeshiva but I never encountered this anywhere before. What is the source of these famous “Five Levels”?

The Aish Rabbi Replies:

The Sefer HaChinuch (mitzvah 418 - Ahavas Hashem) writes that there nothing in the world - neither wealth (materialism), family (love), honor (right thing), nor dominion (power) - which compares to love of God. Rabbi Weinberg learned from here that these five aspects are pointing to five distinct levels of pleasure - and from this kernel developed his famous class.

More Questions

Due to limited resources, the Ask the Rabbi service is intended for Jews of little background with nowhere else to turn. People with questions in Jewish law should consult their local rabbi. For genealogy questions try Note also that this is not a homework service!

Ask the Aish Rabbi a Question

Receive the Daily Features Email

Sign up to our Daily Email Newsletter.

Our privacy policy