Cool Whip on Matzah?

What are we allowed to eat on Passover? I consider myself Conservative-to-Reform, but growing up I was told things like you cannot eat peanuts. Can you eat Cool Whip?

The Aish Rabbi Replies:

The Torah instructs a Jew not to eat (or even possess) chametz during all seven days of Passover (Exodus 13:3). "Chametz" is defined as any of the five grains - wheat, spelt, barley, oats and rye - which has come into contact with water for more than 18 minutes. This is a serious Torah prohibition, and for that reason we take extra protective measures on Passover to prevent any mistakes.

As a further precaution, we do not use Passover food in the category of "kitniyot." Sometimes referred to generically as "legumes," this includes rice, corn, soy beans, string beans, peas, lentils, peanuts, mustard, sesame seeds and poppy seeds. Even though kitniyot cannot technically become chametz, Ashkenazi Jews do not eat them on Passover.

As for Cool Whip and other things, it all depends on the ingredients. It's always best to look for a kosher certification symbol on the package, indicating that it is kosher for Passover. Don't worry - there's plenty of delicious food to eat on Passover. For ideas, check out our gourmet Passover recipes at

More Questions

Due to limited resources, the Ask the Rabbi service is intended for Jews of little background with nowhere else to turn. People with questions in Jewish law should consult their local rabbi. For genealogy questions try Note also that this is not a homework service!

Ask the Aish Rabbi a Question

Receive the Daily Features Email

Sign up to our Daily Email Newsletter.

Our privacy policy