Number of Branches on Menorah

I'm confused. My Chanukah menorah has 9 branches, but the Menorah in our synagogue has 7. Why the difference?

The Aish Rabbi Replies:

The original menorah was the one Moses made for the Tabernacle in the desert. That one, and the ones in the Holy Temples, had 7 branches (6 + the center), as directed in Exodus 25:31-32.

The Chanukah menorah commemorates the 8-day miracle of Chanukah, which we celebrate Chanukah for 8 days. Therefore the Chanukah Menorah has 8 branches, with a ninth one used as the Shamash, set somewhat apart from the others.

Best wishes for a de"light"ful Chanukah.

More Questions

Due to limited resources, the Ask the Rabbi service is intended for Jews of little background with nowhere else to turn. People with questions in Jewish law should consult their local rabbi. For genealogy questions try Note also that this is not a homework service!

Ask the Aish Rabbi a Question

Receive the Daily Features Email

Sign up to our Daily Email Newsletter.

Our privacy policy